You are in AFC U-19 Championship  / Article

Malaysia win AFF U-19 title 

Saturday, July 14, 2018

Surabaya: A late strike by Nik Akif Syahiran steered Malaysia to the AFF Under-19 title as they came from behind to defeat Myanmar 4-3 in the final on Saturday.

Having taken a 2-0 lead through Awang Muhammad Faiz in the third minute and Nik Akif (18th), Malaysia found themselves trailing following an eight-minute blitz which saw Myanmar scoring three times.

Win Naing Tun hit a quick fire brace in the 23rd and 26th minutes before Myat Kaung Khant gave Myanmar the lead in the 31st.

2018 AFF U19 Championship Final | Saturday, 14th July 2018

Full Time


Win Naing Tun 23’ 26’ Myat Kaung Khant 31’
Awang Muhammad Faiz 3’ Nik Akif Syahiran 18’ 90’ Shivan Pillay Asokan 75’ #FAM #HarimauMalaya #MalaysiaU19

— FA Malaysia (@FAM_Malaysia) July 14, 2018

After a fruitless first 30 minutes in the second half, Shivan Pillay Asokan drew Malaysia level as the match headed for an exciting end.

Nik Akif ensured it would be Malaysia who would celebrate when he stepped up with the winner to give them their first AFF Under-19 title.

AFF U19: Indonesia claim the bronze after edging Thailand

— ASEAN Football (@AFFPresse) July 14, 2018

Earlier, Indonesia survived a late fightback from Thailand to seal a 2-1 win and claim the bronze medal. 

Indonesia, who went down in a penalty shootout against Malaysia in the semi-finals, scored once in each half through Feby Eka Putra (34th) and Syahrian Abimanyu (83rd). 

Matee Sarakum was on target in the 85th minute for Thailand.

Photo: Football Association of Malaysia