January 5 - February 1, 2019
You are in AFC Asian Cup  / Article

The Pride of Asia - 150 Days to UAE 2019

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Kuala Lumpur: Kuala Lumpur: The AFC Asian Cup has developed into the Continent’s premier football tournament, bringing together the top national teams from the length and breadth of Asia to compete for one of international football’s most sought-after prizes every four years.

With the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 just 150 days away, the-AFC.com retraces the competition's previous winners and how it has progressed into the Continent's most prestigious football tournament.

The tournament had its roots in the formation of the Asian Football Confederation in Manila in 1954. The 12 founding members of the AFC sought to shape the development of the game in Asia and one of the keys to achieving that aim was the organisation of a regional competition for the continent’s national sides.

See also :

Two years later, the first- ever AFC Asian Cup was staged in Hong Kong with eight Member Associations vying for the right to be declared champions of Asia.

Over half a century later, the AFC Asian Cup has grown to encompass teams from throughout the continent and has become the barometer by which the continually changing balance of power in Asian football is measured.

From the dominance of Korea Republic in the early years of the competition, the AFC Asian Cup became the preserve of the Islamic Republic of Iran who won three consecutive tournaments from 1968 to 1976.



During the 1980s, the Gulf states asserted themselves with Kuwait – in 1980 – becoming the first Arab side to win the competition, before Saudi Arabia claimed three of the next four titles, reaching the final five times in a row.

Japan’s AFC Asian Cup victories in 1992, 2000 and 2004 then signalled a shift in power back to East Asia at the turn of the Millennium.

In 2007, the competition was co-hosted for the first time, with Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam providing the backdrop for the AFC Asian Cup’s 14th edition. Iraq sensationally defeated Saudi Arabia to clinch the title in Southeast Asia, with the fairy-tale win a clear sign of football’s immense power to bring people together.

Four years on and the coveted crown returned to Japan as the Samurai Blue claimed a record fourth AFC Asian Cup success in Qatar, before defeated finalists Australia regrouped to claim the trophy on home soil in 2015.

UAE 2019 promises to be another spectacular show as the AFC Asian Cup will see 24 teams battling for the title.

The expanded format will see Kyrgyz Republic, the Philippines and Yemen making their debut in the January 5-February 1 extravaganza played in eight world class stadiums.

The teams will be vying for a stunning new trophy lifted for the first time since the inaugural edition in 1956 and at stake will also be a USD14.8m prize purse, setting the stage for the biggest and best ever AFC Asian Cup.

Year Winners

1956 Korea Republic

1960 Korea Republic

1964 Israel

1968 Islamic Republic of Iran

1972 Islamic Republic of Iran

1976 Islamic Republic of Iran

1980 Kuwait

1984 Saudi Arabia

1988 Saudi Arabia

1992 Japan

1996 Saudi Arabia

2000 Japan

2004 Japan

2007 Iraq

2011 Japan

2015 Australia

Recommended Stories :